Canadian Council of Ministers
of the Environment

Le Conseil canadien des ministres
de l'environnement

Resources

Mercury

Mercury is toxic, persistent and accumulates in living organisms. It can be transported over long distances through the air and enter the land and water, where it can build up in foods as they are consumed up the food chain. Micro-organisms found in water, wetlands and soil typically convert mercury to methylmercury, a highly toxic form. Humans are primarily exposed to mercury through the consumption of fish and certain wildlife species. In several areas of Canada, including the Arctic, levels of mercury remain high in some wildlife and exposure to mercury through the consumption of fish and certain wildlife may pose health risks to some Canadians.

Mercury pollution is produced or released:

  • by natural sources, such as forest fires and volcanic activity
  • by human activities such as: waste incineration; coal-fired power generation; metal smelting; cement clinker production and; the production, breakage and disposal of products containing mercury
  • in reservoirs created by dams.

Canadian mercury emissions have decreased by over 90 per cent since the 1970s, particularly with significant reductions occurring in the non-ferrous smelting and refining sector when measures were put in place in the 1990s. The graph below shows the annual amount of mercury emissions generated in Canada by source from 1990 to 2015.

Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada. 2017. Air Pollutant Emission Inventory

Despite these reductions, air emissions continue to be a major source of mercury in Canada. Environment and Climate Change Canada (ECCC) estimates that 97 per cent of mercury from human sources deposited in Canada came from other countries. Mercury released into the air can remain there for 6 to 12 months and wind can carry it long distances.  ECCC also estimates that Canada contributed 0.2 per cent of global mercury emissions to the atmosphere from human activities. This is the smallest contribution of any region in the world.

The graph below shows the sources of mercury and where in Canada they were deposited in 2015.

Source: Environment and Climate Canada. 2018.

Measures to reduce local and global mercury emissions help improve ecosystems, wildlife, and the health of Canadians. Canadians can take action in their everyday lives to reduce mercury emissions and releases by properly disposing of mercury containing products (e.g., mercury-containing light bulbs, thermometers, etc.). Canadians can also better protect their health by being informed of fish consumption guidelines and advisories.

Federal, provincial and territorial governments continue to do research and collaborate to reduce mercury emissions. Together they have put in place over 50 regulatory and non-regulatory domestic and international measures that directly or indirectly target reductions of mercury emissions.

CCME developed Canada-wide standards for mercury emissions from base-metal smelters, waste incinerators, coal-fired power plants as well as mercury-containing lamps and dental amalgam waste.

Canadian Council of Ministers
of the Environment

Le Conseil canadien des ministres
de l'environnement

Ressources

Mercure

Le mercure est toxique et persistant, et il s’accumule dans les organismes vivants. Il est susceptible d’être transporté sur de longues distances dans l’air et dans l’eau, où il peut s’accumuler dans les aliments consommés tout le long de la chaîne alimentaire. Des micro-organismes présents dans l’eau, dans les milieux humides et dans le sol le convertissent généralement en méthylmercure, qui est hautement toxique. Les humains sont surtout exposés au mercure en consommant du poisson et certaines espèces de gibier. Dans plusieurs régions du Canada, y compris l’Arctique, les niveaux de mercure demeurent élevés dans certaines espèces sauvages, et l’exposition au mercure par la consommation de poisson et de certains gibiers peut poser des risques pour la santé de certains Canadiens.

La pollution au mercure est produite ou propagée :

  • par des sources naturelles, comme les feux de forêt et l’activité volcanique;
  • par des activités humaines, comme l’incinération de déchets, la production d’électricité par des centrales au charbon, la fonte de métaux, la production de clinker ou encore la production, le bris et l’élimination de produits contenant du mercure;
  • dans des réservoirs créés par des barrages.

Les émissions de mercure au Canada ont baissé de plus de 90 % depuis les années 1970, principalement grâce aux importantes réductions observées dans la foulée des mesures mises en place dans le secteur de la fonte et de l’affinage des métaux non ferreux dans les années 1990. Le graphique ci-dessous indique les émissions annuelles de mercure au Canada, par source, de 1990 à 2015.

 

Source : Environnement et Changement climatique Canada, 2017. Inventaire des émissions de polluants atmosphériques.

Malgré ces réductions, les émissions atmosphériques demeurent une source majeure de pollution au mercure au Canada. Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (ECCC) estime que 97 % du mercure de sources humaines qui s’est déposé au Canada provenait d’autres pays. Le mercure rejeté dans l’air peut y demeurer de 6 à 12 mois, et le vent peut le transporter sur de longues distances. ECCC estime aussi que le Canada a contribué pour 0,2 % aux émissions mondiales de mercure dans l’atmosphère causées par l’activité humaine. Il s’agit de la plus petite contribution, toutes régions du monde confondues.

Le graphique ci-dessous indique les sources de mercure et les endroits au Canada où il s’est déposé en 2015.

 

Source : Environnement et Changement climatique Canada, 2018.

Des mesures visant à réduire les émissions locales et mondiales de mercure aident à améliorer la santé des écosystèmes, de la faune et des Canadiens. Les Canadiens peuvent poser des gestes dans leur vie quotidienne pour réduire les émissions et rejets de mercure, notamment en éliminant de façon appropriée les produits contenant du mercure (p. ex. thermomètres ou ampoules électriques contenant du mercure). Les Canadiens peuvent aussi mieux protéger leur santé en prenant connaissance des lignes directrices et avis sur la consommation de poisson.

Les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux continuent d’effectuer des recherches et de collaborer pour réduire les émissions de mercure. Ensemble, ils ont mis en place plus de 50 mesures réglementaires et non réglementaires de portée nationale et internationale qui visent directement ou indirectement à réduire les émissions de mercure.