Municipal Wastewater Effluent

Canada-wide Strategy for the Management of Municipal Wastewater Effluent

Municipal Wastewater Effluent Strategy

Municipal wastewater is one of the largest sources of pollution discharged in Canada’s lakes, rivers and oceans. Through the Canada-wide Strategy for the Management of Municipal Wastewater Effluent (the Strategy) governments have developed a consistent approach to managing wastewater across Canada.

 

Under the Strategy, all wastewater facilities should eventually achieve a minimum of secondary level treatment. Facilities must regularly monitor and report on the quality of the effluent being discharged.

 

Newfoundland and Labrador, Nunavut and Québec agree with the environmental and public health objectives of the Strategy, but they have not endorsed it.

 

 

What is municipal wastewater?

Municipal wastewater consists of sanitary sewage from homes, businesses, industries and institutions as well as the rain and melted snow that drain into sanitary sewers. Municipal wastewater typically contains human and other organic waste, nutrients, pathogens, microorganisms, suspended solids and household and industrial chemicals. Treating wastewater before it is released into lakes and rivers reduces the risks posed to human health and the environment.

National Performance Standards

 
 

National Performance Standards are the minimum requirements for effluent quality from all municipal, community and government wastewater facilities that discharge into lakes, rivers and oceans. The National Performance Standards do not apply to sanitary or combined sewer overflows or to facilities located in geographic areas where extreme climatic conditions impede treatment, such as Canada’s Far North.

 

While all new wastewater facilities are required to meet the National Performance Standards immediately, provisions for staggered deadlines to the end of 2020, 2030 and 2040 were offered to existing facilities. This was put in place to give the necessary time to plan, finance and construct new infrastructure, while ensuring that improvements are made to the highest risk wastewater facilities first. The National Performance Standards form the basis of the federal government’s Wastewater Systems Effluent Regulations.

The National Performance Standards are:

The National Performance Standard for carbonaceous biochemical oxygen demand is 25 mg/L.

 

CBOD5 is the amount of dissolved oxygen required by microorganisms to break down organic carbon and inorganic material in a wastewater sample. When wastewater with a high CBOD5 value is returned to a natural water body, it poses a greater risk of depleting oxygen, harming aquatic organisms and disrupting ecological processes.

The National Performance Standard for TSS is 25 mg/L.

 

Total suspended solids refers to silt, clay, metals, and other organic and inorganic materials that are undissolved in wastewater. Suspended matter not only decreases water clarity, but harmful bacteria, viruses and heavy metals may attach to the particles and spread through waterways.

The National Performance Standard for TRC is 0.02 mg/L.

 

Some wastewater treatment facilities use chlorine as a disinfectant. Chlorine is toxic to aquatic organisms so it must be removed from wastewater before it is discharged to lakes, rivers and oceans. Since the implementation of the Strategy, governments have moved away from using chlorine in favour of other more environmentally-friendly methods of disinfection.

Canada-wide Progress

 
 

Most wastewater facilities are meeting the National Performance Standards. Federal, provincial, territorial and municipal governments continue to upgrade and improve wastewater treatment facilities so that by the end of 2040, 100% of wastewater treatment facilities should meet the National Performance Standards. Wastewater treatment facilities that currently exceed the National Performance Standards may still comply with regulations if they have been approved for one of the staggered deadlines.

 

Data for CBOD5 and TSS include wastewater facilities owned by municipalities, communities, provincial and federal governments, and facilities on Indigenous lands. TRC data excludes facilities owned by the federal government or facilities on Indigenous lands.

Percentage of Wastewater Treatment Facilities Achieving the National Performance Standards in 2017

Bar Graph is Loading...

Investment in Wastewater Infrastructure in Canada

 
 

The map shows the total investment in wastewater infrastructure upgrades by federal, provincial, territorial and municipal governments through cost-sharing agreements since 2002, as reported by Infrastructure Canada in April 2019. Funding formulas may vary. Investments include upgrades to pumping stations, sewer systems and wastewater treatment facilities. Upgrades and investments by governments outside of cost-sharing agreements are not included.

 

Canada-wide

Amount invested: over $11 billion

Number of Projects: 3,100

Map is Loading...

Eaux usées

Le rapport annuel est en cours de téléchargement.

Stratégie relative aux effluents d’eaux usées municipales

Le rejet des eaux usées municipales est l’une des plus importantes sources de pollution des lacs, rivières et océans du Canada. Par l’entremise de la Stratégie pancanadienne pour la gestion des effluents d’eaux usées municipales (la Stratégie), les gouvernements ont élaboré une approche uniforme à la gestion des eaux usées dans l’ensemble du Canada.

 

Dans le cadre de cette Stratégie, tous les ouvrages d’assainissement devraient, en définitive, atteindre au minimum les critères d’un traitement de niveau secondaire. Les ouvrages d’assainissement doivent assurer un suivi régulier de la qualité de l’effluent rejeté et en rendre compte.

 

Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, le Nunavut et le Québec sont en accord avec les objectifs environnementaux et de santé publique de la Stratégie, mais ne l’ont pas entérinée.

 

 

Qu’est-ce que sont les eaux usées municipales?

Les eaux usées municipales consistent dans les eaux usées domestiques provenant de résidences, d’entreprises, d’industries et d’établissements, de même que dans la pluie et la neige fondue qui se déversent dans les égouts sanitaires. Les eaux usées municipales contiennent généralement des déchets d’origine humaine et d’autres déchets organiques, des éléments nutritifs, des agents pathogènes, des microorganismes, des matières en suspension ainsi que des substances chimiques à usage domestique et industriel. Le traitement des eaux usées avant qu’elles ne soient rejetées dans les lacs et rivières réduit les risques pour la santé humaine et l’environnement.

Normes de performance nationales

 
 

Les normes de performance nationales constituent des exigences minimales de qualité à l’égard des effluents rejetés dans les lacs, les rivières et les océans par tous les ouvrages d’assainissement municipaux, communautaires et gouvernementaux. Les normes de performance nationales ne s’appliquent pas aux débordements des égouts unitaires ou domestiques ni aux ouvrages situés dans des régions géographiques (Grand Nord canadien) où les conditions climatiques extrêmes peuvent nuire au traitement.

 

Bien que tous les nouveaux ouvrages d’assainissement doivent respecter les normes de performance nationales immédiatement, des dispositions ont été prises pour accorder des échéanciers progressifs jusqu’à la fin de 2020, de 2030 et de 2040 aux ouvrages actuels. Ces dispositions ont été mises en œuvre pour assurer le temps nécessaire à la planification, au financement et à la construction des nouvelles infrastructures, tout en veillant à ce que des améliorations soient d’abord apportées aux ouvrages d’assainissement qui présentent le plus haut niveau de risque. Les normes de performance nationales sont à la base du règlement sur les effluents des systèmes d’assainissement des eaux usées du gouvernement fédéral.

Les normes de performance nationales sont :

La norme de performance nationale pour la demande biochimique en oxygène de la partie carbonée est de 25 mg/L.

 

DBO5C constitue la quantité d’oxygène dissous nécessaire aux microorganismes pour décomposer le carbone organique et la matière inorganique dans un échantillon d’eaux usées. Lorsque des eaux usées avec une valeur élevée en DBO5C sont retournées dans un plan d’eau naturel, elles posent un plus grand risque de réduire la quantité d’oxygène dans l’eau, ce qui peut être dommageable pour les organismes aquatiques, en plus de perturber les processus écologiques.

La norme de performance nationale pour les MES est de 25 mg/L.

 

Les matières en suspension font référence au limon, à l’argile, aux métaux et aux autres matières organiques et inorganiques non dissoutes dans les eaux usées. Non seulement les matières en suspension diminuent la clarté de l’eau, mais les bactéries néfastes, les virus et les métaux lourds peuvent s’accrocher aux particules et se propager dans les cours d’eau.

La norme de performance nationale pour le CRT est de 0,02 mg/L.

 

Certains ouvrages d’assainissement utilisent le chlore en guise de désinfectant. Comme le chlore est toxique pour les organismes aquatiques, il doit être retiré des eaux usées avant leur rejet dans les lacs, rivières et océans. Depuis la mise en œuvre de la Stratégie, les gouvernements ont cessé l’usage du chlore au profit d’autres méthodes de désinfection plus écologiques.

Progrès pancanadien

 
 

La plupart des ouvrages d’assainissement respectent les normes de performance nationales. Les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux, territoriaux et municipaux continuent de moderniser et d’améliorer leurs ouvrages d’assainissement de sorte que d’ici la fin de 2040, la totalité d’entre eux devraient respecter les normes de performance nationales. Les ouvrages d’assainissement qui dépassent actuellement les normes de performance nationales peuvent tout de même être conformes au règlement s’ils ont été approuvés pour l’un des échéanciers progressifs.

 

Les données relatives à la DBO5C et aux MES comprennent les ouvrages d’assainissement appartenant aux municipalités, aux collectivités, aux gouvernements fédéral et provinciaux, ainsi que les ouvrages situés en territoire autochtone. Les données sur le CRT excluent les ouvrages détenus par le gouvernement fédéral et ceux situés en territoire autochtone.

Pourcentage des ouvrages d’assainissement qui respectaient les normes de performance nationales en 2017

Bar Graph is Loading...

Investissement dans les infrastructures des eaux usées au Canada

 
 

La carte indique l’investissement total des gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux, territoriaux et municipaux dans la modernisation des infrastructures des eaux usées par l’entremise d’ententes de partage des coûts depuis 2002, tel que cela été publié par Infrastructure Canada en avril 2019. Le mode de financement peut varier. Les investissements comprennent la modernisation des stations de pompage, des réseaux d’égouts et des ouvrages d’assainissement. Les modernisations et investissements à l’extérieur des ententes de partage des coûts ne sont pas inclus.

 

À l’échelle du Canada

Montant investi: plus de 11 milliards de dollars

Nombre de projets: 3,100

Map is Loading...